Ten Years of The Metro

Apparently The Metro (the first free newspaper for commuters) is celebrating its 10th anniversary, and today’s issue was full of articles about the stories that it has covered since 1999, and how the face of Britain – and the world – has changed in that time.

I have been reading the Metro since it first came out, and it made me reflect on how my life has changed in the last ten years.

In many ways, I suppose, it hasn’t. I was with my husband in 1999 (though we weren’t married then), and the same two cats we had then are still with us. I was still a writer with a day job, though ten years ago I was focusing more on short stories than novels.

I have changed jobs three times in the last ten years, and we have moved house once.

There’s no doubt, though, that this post-9/11 world is a different place than that of a decade ago. Two changes mentioned in the Metro stand out for me, though.

In 1999, Facebook didn’t exist and George W Bush had not yet become President.

Imagine that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

