Zen and the Art of Positive Thinking

I’ve been practising yoga now for about a year. Initially it was to help me learn how to chill out – I tend to get very stressed and uptight about things (and there’s a touch of OCD there, too, if I’m honest).

I enjoy the classes, but I spend most of my time there yawning. My yoga teacher says that’s a good thing because yawning is the release of blocked negative energy.

I admit to being a bit skeptical regarding all this talk about energy and chakras (there I was thinking I was just yawning because I’m tired!). Last week the teacher talked about the chakra points, and the specific symptoms that occur when each of them is ‘blocked’. Seems I have a problem with most of mine, if that’s the case. But on the whole I enjoy the class, and it has been a positive influence in helping me deal with the stresses of everyday life.

My yoga teacher seems to have reached a particularly high level of inner peace, but she has been practising a long time. She always sees the good in everything, and never seems to have any negative thoughts about anyone. I think I’ve got a long way to go before I reach that level of Zen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

