Sweet Nostalgia

The demise of Woolworths was particularly sad for those of us who used to buy our sweets from their pick & mix counter. I started thinking about all the sweets I enjoyed as a child in the 1970s.

Some of my favourite childhood sweets are still around: Fruitellas, fruit salads, Dolly mixtures, Cadbury’s creme eggs (mmm…). But others seem to have gone the way of the dodo. Here is a list of some of my favourite sweets from childhood that I haven’t seen around for years.

Flying Saucers: circles of rice paper with sherbert inside. They melted in your mouth.

Space Dust: Who knows what was in this. You poured it onto your tongue, and it started crackling and popping. Pull in your tongue and close your mouth, and you could feel the roof of your mouth explode. I imagine it got banned!

K-Lie: Not even sure if I’m spelling that one right. Plastic bags of sugary sherbert, tied up at the top with a lollipop inside. You licked the lollipop, dunked it, and the sherbert stuck to the sticky lolly. The sherbert was pretty much pure sugar. I’m surprised all our teeth didn’t fall out eating this one.

Spangles: Boiled sweets with round groooves in the middle. I think they enjoyed a brief resurgence in the 90s.

Shrimps: Pink fondanty sweets. Can you still buy them?

What were your favourite sweets and are you still able to indulge occasionally?

2 comments so far

  1. Anne Skalitza on

    Loved that crackly, popping candy you put on your tongue. Miss all those sugary treats!

  2. Clair Dickson on

    I remember candy cigarettes. It’s amusing to think that this product was ever offered (and that it sold well through the 80s.)

    And, no, I never started smoking, in spite of the insistance of some that candy cigarettes would lead to real smoking.

    And mallow cups. I think they came back (did they ever go away?) These were an Easter basked specialty from gramma and grampa.


Leave a Reply

