Writers & Cats

I’ve always been a ‘cat’ person. Dogs I’m just not very fond of. They are rather noisy, and too high maintenance. They require walking every day, they need to be house broken, and being pack animals they require constant companionship.

Cats, on the other hand are far more aloof and independent. They are clean animals that don’t need house training, they don’t seek approval and on the whole, don’t really care much about whether you are there or not as long as they get fed on a regular basis.

I think this is why I’ve met far more writers with cats than dogs. Writing is a solitary pursuit, and writers, like cats, are happy in their own company, not needing the approval of “the pack” like dogs do.

There are some dog-loving writers out there, of course, but it seems that the cat-loving ones make up the majority.

4 comments so far

  1. lachatnoir on

    Totally agree ma cherie! xx

  2. spamwarrior on

    I found the blog from absolutewrite.com… great stuff!

    I love cats. Maybe I should get one. Hmmm.

  3. michael on

    I thougtht the same until I got a Maine Coon kitten. She’s as big as a dog and just as big a slob. And she won’t leave my side. Don’t know what I’d do without her!

  4. lefrancophoney on

    I’m definitely a cat person, despite having a dog and a cat when I grew up. Cats are just easier for all the reasons you’ve pointed out.


Leave a Reply

