Snap

Coming home on the underground today, I saw a big poster for a new book out – SUFFER THE CHILDREN by Adam Creed.

I am a little bit gutted, because this is my book’s title. But on reflection, there’s probably no real cause for concern, for several reasons.

1. Titles can’t be copyrighted. So you can’t get sued for pinching them.

2. There was already a book called SUFFER THE CHILDREN – by John Saul – when I decided to use that name for mine. I have to say I wasn’t aware of it at the time. But if Adam Creed can use the title, maybe I can too.

3. Adam Creed’s book is a crime book, not a horror book. Hopefully this means a different readership.

4. And, possibly most important, chances are I’ll have to change my title before publication anyway. As I’ve had the raise the age of the character from 14 to 18, the children are no longer suffering in my book – it’s the 18-21 year olds that are suffering now. Somehow this isn’t such a snappy title, so I’ll have to think of another one.

Even so, in spite of all these things I still feel a bit possessive about this title. I’ll have to learn to let it go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

