End of Round 2

I found myself with a day off work today, with most of the day free to write. Well, apart from waiting for the boiler repairman, but he turned up at 9:30 and had fixed the problem by 10 am.

A day with nothing else to do but write? A rare occurrence indeed. Those of us who are writers with day jobs (ie most of us) have to fit the writing in around everything else in life, and if we have days off work they end up being full of domestic chores – the kinds of things one doesn’t get the chance to do when one is at work all day.

So I decided to make the most of the opportunity, and crack on with the rewrite. And it has been a very productive day. I have got to the end of round 2 of rewriting the manuscript.

I still have at least one more round to do. I have been irritated to discover how often I write in the passive voice, which is one of my publisher’s ‘no-nos’. I am also quite irritated by the number of consistency errors and typos I have found in a manuscript I allegedly finished six years ago. The lesson here seems to be: when you think you’re done, and your manuscript is perfect, go through it just one more time, because it probably isn’t.

In the two edits I’ve done so far, I’ve been changing a lot of text, in light of the plot changes that had to be done to raise the age of the main character. So now I need to go through and edit again – to make sure I’ve got all of that passive voice, and pick up any errors I might have made in that new text.

I also need to go through it once more after that, to kill all those ‘filler words’ I have been warned about. That might take a while, I feel. It’s rather a long list, and I am guilty of peppering each chapter with quite a lot of them (‘had’ is one of my worst offenses, it seems, but that comes with my fondness for the passive voice).

Still, I’m feeling pretty good about the amount of work I have accomplished today. When I sat down this morning I was about halfway through the novel. In fact, I’m quite impressed about how much work I can do if I spend the day writing. Imagine how prolific I could be if I was a full time writer and could spend every day writing. I could be another James Patterson!

3 comments so far

  1. LM Preston on

    It’s good to know that someone else out there spends their day off from their day job writing. It’s amazing how you see your weak spots when you step away from it and before you edit.

  2. Anne Skalitza on

    Hey, you never know–you just could be the next James Patterson. Or far better. 🙂

  3. ralfast on

    Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

