New Year Musings

I know a lot of people who will be glad to see the back of 2009. For me, however, it was a really good year. This was largely due to my publishing contract – well, that’s just the best thing ever, and it really doesn’t get much better than that.

Turning 40 was also a highlight of the year. Not only was the party awesome, but I end the year with a new sense of confidence, and security in who I am and where I’m going. Yes, there are a few more grey hairs and wrinkles, more saggy bits, and the older I get the harder it is to lose weight and not find it again. But I am happy to accept it all, and there’s no way I would want to be 18 again. I am 40, and I am proud.

Perhaps the day has not yet come when I can quit the day job and write full time, but I finish the year in gainful employment, at a time when a lot of people have been made redundant or face uncertainty in the job market.

So what will 2010 bring? It will bring the publication of SUFFER THE CHILDREN, which is fantastic. I’ve also decided it’s time to get going on the next book. I plan to return to my urban fantasy, and kick it out the second-draft slump it currently finds itself in. After all, with the publication of one book, I need to have another one ready to go, and since the first book is horror, it’s probably best for me not to stray too far away from that genre, at least for the time being.

2009 was a bad year for many, but it was a good one for me. I look forward to seeing what the new decade will bring.

Happy New Year, everyone. May 2010 be good to you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

