Ageing Vision

Intellectually, we all know we’re going to get old, and there’s nothing that can stop it. With age, comes the fact that our bodies are going to wear out. Few people make it into old age without need of some artificial enhancement – hearing aid, glasses, walking stick (maybe even a plastic joint if one lives long enough).

I have been fortunate enough to reach the age of 40 with excellent eyesight – even considering I spend most of my waking life staring at a computer, and when I’m not doing that I’ve got my nose in a book.

However, these days are no more. My recent sight test has revealed that my vision has now deteriorated to a point where I need glasses to see distant things clearly – so, for driving, watching TV, and so on.

I had suspected this might be the case. There’s no doubt that my sight’s been getting shorter. I have been commuting through Victoria Station for the best part of 20 years. Once upon a time, I could read the train information boards from the back of the concourse. Nowadays, I need to be considerably closer than that to be able to read what platform my train’s leaving from. The only question was at what point would I be short-sighted enough to require specs? And it seems that this has now been answered.

I know glasses are no big deal, and I’m lucky to have not needed them before now. But I can’t help but feel just a little bit old, with the revelation of this first deteriorating body part.

Still, I had quite good fun choosing the frames. Seems there are a lot of cool styles to choose from these days. And I’m quite looking forward to seeing how I look in these new glasses. Maybe they will make me look more “writerly”!

3 comments so far

  1. lachatnoir on

    Welcome to my world! To date I have specs, walking stick and a few metal bits inside – not even 40 yet eek!! Comfort yourself with the fact that there are some fabulous frames out there now so you shall look tres chic 🙂

    • sayssara on

      metal bits inside = Bionic Chat Noir!! 🙂

  2. Michelle on

    Photo avec specs please!


Leave a Reply

