Rules for Writing

Today I am passing on this excellent article from the Guardian, where several major writers list their ‘Top 10 Rules for Writing Fiction‘.

The article is in two parts, but it’s worth reading to the end, as there are lots of valuable gems in here. More than one person mentions the necessity of a writing space without internet access. I can see the wisdom of this, but sadly I find it difficult to follow this advice. Even if I resolve to sit at the computer and crash on with some work, I feel the need to open emails first. A separate PC without an internet connection seems a drastic but sensible solution, but I am not sure I am strong enough for that step.

Anyway, perhaps there are some words of wisdom here that will resonate with you, and so I share them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

