First Reading

World Horror Con 2010, in Brighton, is hosting a Reading Cafe. I thought this would be a very good way to promote SUFFER THE CHILDREN, so I requested a slot. Fortunately for me – because it seems they were all taken – someone cancelled, so I managed to squeeze in at 12:30pm on Sunday.

This is momentous news. It will be the first public reading of SUFFER THE CHILDREN. And as such, I find myself both excited and apprehensive.

Two issues are currently worrying me. The first is, what part of the novel should I read? I have to read for 15 to 20 minutes. Do I start at Chapter 1? Or should I find a section further along in the book that’s a little more action-packed? Maybe I should find an exciting bit, and finish the reading on a cliff-hanger, so my audience will want to buy the e-book just to find out what happens next.

The second issue worrying me involves my speaking voice. I’ve done amateur dramatics and have no problem with facing an audience. But speaking lines aloud in character was always much easier for me than being myself. I have a habit of talking too fast. I think my thoughts whirr round my head in a rapid manner, and then just tumble out of my mouth all at once.

So, I need to rehearse – both what I’m going to read, and how I’m going to read it. I have just over two weeks to become a writer prepared to face her public…

3 comments so far

  1. ralfast on

    Good luck. Wish I was there.

  2. Rosie Quigley on

    Leaving people on a cliff-hanger wanting more is a great idea.
    You’ll do fine, it is your novel, you know how it should read and sound.
    Enjoy your moment……good luck.
    xx

  3. Kirsten Lesko on

    Congratulations! This is a huge deal. I’m not at this stage in my career yet (I simultaneously dread and dream of this part), but I vote for your cliffhanger idea – go hook them! And good luck!


Leave a Reply

