Coveting Neil Gaiman’s Library

(Cross-posted from the WriteClub blog)

I am very, very far away from earning enough money writing to give up the day job. Indeed, I may never actually get to that stage.

But this doesn’t stop me occasionally fantasising about what I would buy if I not only got to the stage where I could earn a living on my earnings as a writer, but live very well off my earnings as a writer.

Picture credit: http://www.shelfari.com

The first thing I’d do is buy myself a house that was big enough for me to be able to set aside one room to be a dedicated library. A few years ago I came across this picture of Neil Gaiman’s library. Ever since then, I’ve coveted Mr Gaiman’s library.

Just thinking about it gets me all excited. Imagine – a room stuffed full of books, floor to ceiling. All my books in one place. All ordered by subject, genre or author. Probably even catalogued. There’d be a nice comy sofa or two for a reading corner. And it’s all mine.

We live in a three-bedroomed house that is already overflowing with books – hence, one of the appeals of e-books is the fact they take up no space. There are books in pretty much every room of our house. And boxes and boxes of them in the attic, where we’ve already had to stash the ones there’s no room for but we can’t bear to get rid of.

So, I dream of my own personal library. Much like Mr Gaiman’s. If I had this library, though, I would have to set up my writing station elsewhere in the house, where there aren’t any books. I wouldn’t get a lot of writing done in the library; I’d get distracted by all the pretty books.

1 comment so far

  1. Michelle Moores on

    They all look pretty tidy too! Needs some face on for maximum display impact though! Dying to know if they’re in alpha order – how sad!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.