Goodreads Challenge

I’ve been on Goodreads for a little while now. If you’re a writer, or a reader, I would recommend signing up.

If you’re a writer, it’s a really good publicity tool. You can set up a profile for yourself, and add your books. Once your book is there you can monitor who reads it, who reviews it, and if you really want to self-promote, you can also recommend it to others.

If you are a reader, it’s a good way of monitoring all the books you read. With your profile you can create your electronic bookshelves, adding books you’ve read, are reading or want to read, and you can categorise them, rate and review them, and see other people’s reviews. It also keeps track of when you start a book and finish it.

I know some people who have kept a log of every book they’ve ever read. I’ve never really done this, so I don’t know how many books I’ve read in my lifetime, and sometimes I start to read books I think I’ve never read before, only to realise partway through that I have.

Goodreads changes all that, though. I joined in April last year, so the books I’ve read since then I’ve added, and I’m in the process of adding other books I know I’ve read in the past.

Goodreads sent me a message recently informing me that I read 35 books last year, and would I like to set myself a challenge for this year? That 35 books, of course, is the number I’ve read since I joined Goodreads. I think 50 is more accurate for a year – it takes me, on average, about a week to read a book.

So the challenge I set for myself to read 50 books in 2011 probably isn’t that challenging. Still, let’s see how it goes. I can always up the count in 2012.

If you are on Goodreads, feel free to add me to your ‘friends’ list. Here is my profile.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

