Perspective

SUFFER THE CHILDREN is available on the Kindle on Amazon’s site in both the UK and the US. As such, it has a ‘Kindle listing’ rating its popularity.

It’s currently listed number 15,244 on the UK site. This seemed like a rather depressing number to me, and I was grumbling about it to a work colleague recently. “At least it’s got a rating,” she said. “You’ve had a book published and it’s listed on Amazon – not everyone can say that.”

She’s right, of course. I have a tendency to be a ‘glass half-empty’ sort of person sometimes. So thank you, Anna, for pointing out my skewed perspective. My book is published. It has an Amazon listing. This is no reason to complain – this should be a “yay!” sort of moment.

And it reminds me that I’m a published author. That awesome fact has not yet worn thin, and it deserves more than a “yay”. Perspective restored. Off I go for a little happy dance….

1 comment so far

  1. Nerine Dorman on

    I try not to look at the Amazon listings. Far too depressing. Rather, listen to the actual reader feedback you receive from the people who will, no doubt, randomly message you on FB or other social networking sites. Remember, this is the first. As you start building rep, you’ll get new readers who may possibly go out and look at your older writing.


Leave a Reply

