Geek Toys

This cuddly Chewbacca, to the left of this picture, is my latest geek toy, found in HMV on a recent shopping trip. I think he’s adorable. And if you press his belly, he makes Chewie growls.

I thought I would put him on the shelf to keep Gizmo the Mogwai company. Gizmo (from ‘Gremlins’) is cool, too. Switch him on and he sings and sways about. But he does require batteries, so I don’t keep him switched on all the time.

I have a growing collection of ‘geek toys’. Most of them share shelf space with the books, but that’s only because we don’t have shelves in our house that aren’t crammed with books. Gizmo and Chewbacca are cohabiting with the science fiction section, as you can see.

I’ve always been a sucker for dolls and soft toys, though I find as an adult I’m gravitating more towards toys with a ‘Star Wars’ or ‘Buffy’ theme. I have a 12″ high Buffy doll, and one of ‘Evil Willow’ that I am rather fond of.

Who says you have to be a grown-up when you become an adult? Another definition of ‘geek’, I think, is someone who spends more money on toys as an adult than they ever did as a child…

4 comments so far

  1. Michelle Moores on

    I agree you’re never too old to play and if a lot of people hadn’t forgotten how to just play and enjoy themselves without stimulants and drugs there would be a lot less stressed people in the world – you only have to look at a group of small children playing to know that. Not sure about the geek bit – surely you just have more money to buy stuff you like now than you did as a child?
    Andy (at almost 44) is enjoying now being able to legitimately play with Lego again under the guise of being Daddy to 4 year old!

  2. Sonya on

    OMG that little Chewbacca is the cutest thing ever. Wonder if I can get one here in the states.

  3. Kenneth Hoss on

    I used to have a Gizmo doll. Loved “Gremlins”.

    I have something for you on my blog. 😀

    http://kenhoss.blogspot.com/2011/06/irresistibly-sweet-blog-award.html

  4. Razib Ahmed on

    “Who says you have to be a grown-up when you become an adult? Another definition of ‘geek’, I think, is someone who spends more money on toys as an adult than they ever did as a child…”
    Well said and I agree to that wholeheartedly. I cannot spend time playing with toys now but I surely have the spirit.


Leave a Reply

