Monday’s Friend: L. K. Below

This week’s Monday’s Friend comes to you a day late, as yesterday my blog was playing host to the virtual launch party for DEATH SCENE.

Yesterday was also the the release date of NEVER A PRINCESS, ALWAYS A FROG by fellow Lyrical Press author L.K. Below. I am delighted to welcome her to my blog today, to talk about her latest release.

Halloween Fever
By L.K. Below

Yes, I know Halloween is still a far cry away, but the “fever” bit is appropriate, wouldn’t you say? I don’t know about you, but in Ontario (Canada), it is hot. I’m daydreaming of colder times, let me tell you.

How fortunate that my latest release, NEVER A PRINCESS, ALWAYS A FROG takes place in October. Specifically, Halloween.

Personally, I’m a huge fan of dressing up. At home, I’ve got an authentic Chinese fan and kimono (the latter which I still can’t recall how to tie right). I’ve dressed up as Scarlet O’Hara and the Paper Bag Princess. But, I have to admit, I’ve never done what my heroine, Colleen, does and dress up like a frog.

Or, as her friend Hannah puts it, as “the blue chick from the X-Men movies. Except you’ll be green.” Colleen is definitely more daring in that respect. Or, truth be told, her sense of daring probably matches my own – Hannah’s the daring one, and pushy, too. Poor bookish Colleen has little choice but to go along with it – it’s for her own good, after all!

Personally, I’ve always wanted to host or attend a masquerade. To be able to be yourself, completely, but no one else knowing who you are? That holds definite appeal.

Even if Colleen doesn’t have a mask in this book, she’s in much the same scenario. Hannah sends her to a stranger’s party. Colleen’s left to her own devices… but fortunately, she meets a prince willing to rescue her from the leering party-goers.

Who else shares my love of dressing up? What’s your favorite Halloween costume? Have you ever done something half as daring as Colleen?


Here’s the blurb for Never a Princess, Always a Frog:

Has this frog finally found her prince?

From the moment Colleen confesses her deepest desire – to experience the same passion she’s read about in books – she is swept away on the most daring escapade she’s ever experienced. Dressed in nothing but green paint, she attends a Halloween party searching for the man of her dreams. She finds him, but then fears she won’t be able to give him up.

Since the death of his wife five years ago, Dan’s life has been on auto-pilot. But from the moment he meets Colleen, he starts to feel alive again. And he knows he can’t let this would-be princess stride out of his life…

Buy the book or learn more at http://bit.ly/NeverAPrincess.

Want to win this book? Be sure to visit L.K. Below’s blog for her Week-After-Release Party on Monday, July 11th 2011. One lucky commenter will win this book! Visit http://lbelow.blogspot.com and leave a comment on her party post on Monday to enter.

L.K. Below writes romance and speculative fiction. Under her full name, Lindsay Below, she pens young adult novels. Visit her online at www.lbelow.net.

4 comments so far

  1. L.K. Below on

    Thanks for having me on your lovely blog, Sara. 🙂

    • sayssara on

      A pleasure L.K.! Good luck with the book!

  2. Carolyn Arnold on

    Congratulations on your book L.K, and the best of success! I love meeting fellow Canadian writers 🙂

  3. L.K. Below on

    Thanks for stopping by, Carolyn. And best of luck with your writing 🙂


Leave a Reply

