Monday’s Friend: Rachel Brimble

Today I am pleased to welcome romance writer Rachel Brimble to my blog.

What I’ve Learned Along The Way
By Rachel Brimble

I am so happy to be here on Sara-Jayne’s blog today promoting my latest book, PAYING THE PIPER, on its actual release day, yay!!

This book is my sixth novel so I thought a great topic to share with you would be what I have learned about being a writer and reader since I started writing seriously for publication in 2005.

People are fascinating by writing and you can guarantee if someone meets you for the first time and you say you are a novelist, the questions will come thick and fast. The most common one? Where do you get your ideas? Second – Are your book based on you or your experiences? Third – Are there sex scenes?

What this says about the human psyche, I have no idea but the questions need answering so I’m going to try…

1) Where do you get your ideas?

The short answer is everywhere BUT that is not very satisfactory to the reader or new interest asking the question. My books tend to start with a voice in my head (hey, no writer claimed to be normal). He or she will either be sad or angry or frustration and clearly wanting to tell me something. So for the next few weeks, I strain to hear them and what it is they want to say.

More often than not, it is a problem that they are facing or something they want. Once I have that, I have the basis for my story. After that, it is up to me to figure out a plot around the problem or goal – and most importantly if they are living in 2011 or somewhere in the past!

2) Are your books based on you or your experiences?

Slightly – if that makes sense.

I would say there is something of me in all my characters – whether it be their principals or their reaction to certain situations but none of them represent me in their entirety.

With regard to experiences, I haven’t used any real-life experiences as yet (yet planning to use my experience in the 2010 French floods in an upcoming novel), but certainly use my own emotions when the characters are faced with pain, betrayal, falling in love or bereavement. It’s all there in my heart to create fulfilling and moving scenes on the page.

3) Are there sex scenes?

Yes, in all my books. I believe sex is an integral part of a romance and I am one of the many writers who want to show the vulnerability the heroine or hero is experiencing during and after the physical side of the growing relationship.

Other authors prefer to write sweet romances with the sex happening behind closed doors. That’s not for me, I love writing sex scenes!

Rachel’s latest release is PAYING THE PIPER, available from Lyrical Press (click here for buy link) from September 19th.

Here’s the blurb:

Nightclub manager Grace Butler is on a mission to buy the pub where her mother’s ashes are scattered but the owner wants to sell to anyone but her. And that owner happens to be her father…who has a secret she will do anything to discover.

Social worker and all around good guy Jimmy Betts needs funds to buy a house for three special kids before their care home closes. Time is running out and he’s desperate for cash. He agrees to to a one-time ‘job’ for bad-man Karl Butler. But in a sudden turn of events, Jimmy finds himself employed by Karl’s beautiful, funny and incredibly sexy daughter, Grace. Their lives couldn’t be more different, yet one thread binds them: they’re both trying to escape the bonds of their fathers. Maybe the only way they’ll be free is by being together, instead of alone.

Rachel lives with her husband and two young daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK. She started writing short stories about eight years ago but once her children were at school, she embarked on her first novel. It was published in 2007. Since then, she’s had several books published with The Wild Rose Press, Eternal Press and Lyrical Press. She recently acquired a US agent with her second Victorian historical. A member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America, Rachel hopes to have a further two novels, one contemporary and one Victorian published in 2012.

When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water. And in the evening? Well, a well-deserved glass of wine is never, ever refused…

5 comments so far

  1. Sarah Grimm on

    Those are definitely the three most asked questions, aren’t they? 🙂 Looking forward to reading Paying the Piper.

  2. Aubrie on

    There’s something of me in all my characters as well- scary sometimes, isn’t it?

    Congrats on your new release and your awesome book tour!

  3. Rachel Brimble on

    Hi, ladies,

    Thanks for stopping by, these questions do make me laugh. I find it hard not to sound stilted now so I try to add a bit of humour. Usually end up looking like an idiot, lol!

    Enjoy Piper!

    R x

  4. Desiree Reilly on

    wow i like the idea and then it sound like that going to be a great
    book

  5. Rachel Brimble on

    Thanks for stopping by, Desiree! It’s great to meet you. That’s the best thing about this tour, i have met SO many new people 🙂

    R x


Leave a Reply

