My Life in Books: Pippi Longstocking

Long before Swedish crime writers became the Hot New Thing, Astrid Lindgren was enthralling children with her tales of the unconventional Pippi Longstocking, with her gravity-defying flame red plaits and quirky dress sense.

I think I must have been about six when I first discovered these books, and I loved Pippi’s independent spirit and strong-willed nature.  Thus it would seem that my fondness for strong and unconventional women began early in life.

As with The Famous Five, I think part of Pippi’s appeal is that she lived a life free of parental restraints – she lived on her own and did whatever she wanted.   Stories about children with that kind of freedom hold a universal appeal that’s still relevant, and the fact that these books are still in print leads me to believe that Pippi’s adventures are enjoyed by today’s children.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

