Lucky Seven Excerpt: DEAD COOL

I was tagged by Sonya Clark for a Lucky Seven Excerpt, and I have decided to play.

Here are the rules:

1. Go to page 77 in your current manuscript
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next seven lines as they are – no cheating
4. Tag 7 other authors (done on Facebook).

First, an explanation, because I have two WIPs. The horror WIP is still at first draft stage. In first draft, I create a new document for each chapter. I don’t put the novel together into one document until I’m ready to send it to beta readers. So for the horror WIP, I don’t know which is page 77.

Hence, this extract is from my other WIP – the second Shara Summers novel, DEAD COOL. It got critted by the writing group in December, and there are so many things to fix I don’t know where to start, so it’s been shelved ever since.

If nothing else, this exercise is a stark reminder of where I’m going wrong. And I think maybe I’m ready to get going on the next draft…

* * * * * * * *

I shook my head. “Looks like an overdose. But I’m not sure.” I could hear sirens in the distance, getting louder. “I asked Reception to call the police.”
Kelly groaned. “I guess the cops are going to grill us again.”
Madison dug him in the ribs. “A girl’s dead, you jerk. Is all you can think about the inconvenience to you?”
“I didn’t really know her,” Kelly said defensively.
“That doesn’t matter. She’s dead. Isn’t that enough?”

* * * * * * * *

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

