ABC Quiz

What do you do when you don’t know what to blog about?  Take the ABC quiz.  Thanks to Wonky Monkey, who posted this.

Age: 43.  I don’t particularly feel old, until I realise how many people I know who are young enough to be my offspring…

Bed Size: King size. Though I have discovered that a king size bed is different in the UK and the US.  Like a lot of things, in the States a King size is bigger.

Chore You Hate:  All of them. That’s why I have a cleaner.  I’m a big believer in paying someone else to do the things you hate to do.

Dogs?  Don’t really like dogs.  They are noisy and smelly and require walks every day.  I’m much more a cat person – they are lower maintenance.

Essential Start Your Day Item:  I want to say a cup of tea.  But to be more pragmatic, it’s my asthma inhaler, since I don’t get very far into the day if I’m wheezing like Darth Vader.

Favourite Colour:  Red.  It’s always been red.  I guess I like to be noticed.

Gold or Silver?   Silver.  Especially necklaces.  I am acquiring quite a collection of silver necklaces.

Height:  5 foot 6 inches.  More or less.

Instruments You Play:   Bass guitar, but I’m still a beginner.  I used to play the clarinet, in school, but that’s going back a bit.

Job:  Whenever anyone asks me what I do, I have to qualify, “do you mean what I do or what I do for a living, because the answer will be different”.  My vocation and my career is writing.  But I don’t make any money at it, hence the need for a day job.  So I work as an Executive Assistant for a medical college in London.  Because I have a mortgage to pay I do my best to juggle the paying job with the non-paying one.  It’s not always easy.

Kids:  None and no desire to have any.

Live:  4 bedroom house in a suburb of South London.  We moved in last year and I love the house.  Still look forward to returning to it every evening, and have that moment of basking in happiness when I walk through the front door, in the knowledge that this is my home.

Mum’s Name:  Rosemary.  But only my grandmother ever called her that.  To everyone else, she’s always been Rosie.

Nicknames:  None.  At least none that I know of.  It’s possible that there are some that people call me behind my back, but I’ve no desire to know what they are.

Overnight Hospital Stays?  I had my tonsils out, age 6.  Because my parents didn’t want me to be afraid, they’d prepped me by telling me that hospital was a fun place to be.  Apart from the rather sore throat afterwards, I had quite a good time.   More recently I’ve had to go in for haemorrhoid removal.  That was really not fun – in fact, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

Pet Peeve:  Smokers.  Especially those that light up when they are walking down the street in front of me, and I get a face full of their smoke.  My asthmatic lungs really do not appreciate this.

Quote from a Movie:  Lando Calrissian from The Empire Strikes Back – “I’m responsible these days.  It’s the price you pay for being successful.”  How true that is.

Right or Left Handed?  Left handed.  Everyone in my immediate family is right handed and they never really got how awkward being left handed in a right handed world can be.  I used to get told off for putting the knives and forks the wrong way round when I set the table as a kid.

Siblings:  Two sisters, both younger.  My overdeveloped sense of responsibility comes from being the eldest child.

Time You Wake Up?  When the alarm goes off.  On an ordinary working day, this is 6:00 am.  If I want to do some writing first, it’s 5:30 am. On weekends, when I don’t have to set the alarm, I sleep for as long as possible.  Generally till about 10:00 am.  I need 8 hours of sleep a night and I never get it.  I’m permanently in a state of sleep deprivation.

Underwear:  Cotton bikini briefs.  Generally in five-packs from Marks & Spencer.  Comfort first.

Vegetable You Dislike:  All of them.  Vegetables are like exercise – not pleasant but you have to have them because they’re good for you.  I will tolerate peas, cauliflower, carrots, green beans, mange tout and sweet corn.  Most of the rest I won’t eat.

What Makes You Run Late:  My husband.  I’m always ready half an hour before we need to leave.  He doesn’t like to be the first person to arrive, so we’re always fashionably late to everything.

X-Rays You’ve Had Done:  Ankle, when I fell on it whilst paintballing.  Turned out to be sprained, not broken, however.  Skull, when I fell at the tube station and cracked my head.  I got concussion, but no fracture.  Numerous chest x-rays when my persistent and alarming cough worries the doctor.  They revealed nothing untoward in my lungs apart from the fact I have asthma.  In spite of being accident prone, I’ve never broken a bone.  So far.

Yummy Food You Make:  I’m not a cook, but I do occasionally bake, and I can make fabulous peanut butter cookies.

Zoo Animal:   Probably the giraffe.  I find it fascinating that such an awkward-looking animal evolved naturally.  They can’t lie down for fear of breaking their long necks.  And yet I’ve seen them in their natural habitat, traversing across the Serengetti, where they manage to look incredibly majestic.

And there we have it – 26 fascinating (or not) facts revealed in the ABC quiz.  What would your answers be?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

