Smells Like Chaotic Neutral

I came across these RPG scented oils from ThinkGeek, and I think they are a great idea. Dab a little behind your ears and smell like your favourite rogue. This is supposed to bring a touch of extra realism to your tabletop games.  Somewhat idealised, perhaps. Having done live action role playing, I can say with authority that after a weekend of tramping through the woods with a band of sweaty adventurers, with kit that doesn’t get washed between games and shower facilities few and far between, most members of the party end up smelling the same, regardless of character class.

edda_rpg_class_scented_oilsI think this is a really cool idea, though. What does chaos smell like? According to this product, “a whirling mélange of multicolored musks with wasabi, rooibos, heliotrope, and mastic.” Not even sure what half those ingredients are, but it sounds impressive. I like the sound of the rogue scent: “Soft, well-worn black leather, hemp, and rosin”. My favourite D&D character is a rogue called Kaylia. I played her for years. She was chaotic neutral, and this does sound rather appropriate for her.

I like Think Geek’s comments on this product about what they delightfully refer to as “Nerd whiff”  never being completely eradicated “as there will always be that guy who rates his need for gaming above his need for a shower”.

I’ve been a tabletop roleplayer for nearly 30 years. Trust me, I’ve met this guy a few times…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

