Changes

WP_000104This is the desk I sit at when I am working the day job.

In a couple of months, we shall be moving offices. We’ll all have desks half the size of our current ones, in the new building, and there is very little storage space. This means we have to cull the paperwork.

I like pieces of paper. They serve as a physical reminder to do something. As long as the bit of paper is sitting there, every time I see it, it reminds me I have to do something with it. My current method of dealing with emails is to print off the email and put it in my ‘in’ tray. When I’ve dealt with the email, I throw the bit of paper away. Otherwise, the email is likely to get lost in midst of the hundreds of other emails in my in box, and not dealt with.

But I will have to develop new methods of working. All of this paperwork will have to go, since there will be no room for it in the new building. I am not a fan of change. I am comfortable with routine. But routines will have to change. Everything will be different in the new building. I am going to have to cull all the paperwork, and get used to keeping track of files and reminders electronically.

This is a metaphor for life. I carry around a lot of unnecessary baggage in my psyche. Not because this is good for me, but because I’m used to having it there, and familiarity and routine are reassuring.

Change of any kind I find terrifying. But sometimes change has to happen. We have to throw away the superfluous pieces of paper, and rearrange our lives. And sometimes this only gets done if something or someone forces us to do it.

This is the real reason things need to change – because I fear it. After all, the best way of dealing with one’s fears is to face them head on.

It’s time to make some changes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

