Monday’s Friend: Dianne Hartsock

Today my guest is Dianne Hartsock, another writer with a story in the erotic romance anthology FREAKY FLASHES. Welcome, Dianne.

WRITING EROTICA

By Dianne Hartsock

Mmmm….m/m erotic romance. I’ve been writing it for over two years now and I still haven’t gotten over my love affair with the genre. When Breathless Press put out the call for supernatural, frightful flashes for their Halloween Anthology last October, I couldn’t resist. The thought of hot men and the paranormal together completely seduced me.

Enthralled by the idea, I wondered how to run with it. My first flash, ANDREW CALLS THE DEAD, came easily. I tied a gorgeous hunk of a man to a chair, in an attic, surrounded by lit candles. Oh, and minus his clothing because how else should a man be when he’s tied up except naked? I threw in a jealous lover and a raised soul just for fun.

My next story, IN THE SHADOWS, was my first attempt at a shifter story, sort of. It turned out to be more of a thriller, showing how quickly a hunter can become the huntedfreaky flashes.

THE BIRTHDAY is by far my favorite. Cyrus is such a wonderfully handsome, twisted character. And Kyle stole my heart from the very first lines I wrote involving him. Though this story has a happy ending of sorts, there is a whole novel here waiting for me to write it.

Yes, I think I’ve fallen in love with this subgenre of romance, the paranormal. How did I not see this before? I mean, sure, I’ve read a lot of paranormal romances, especially the ones involving angels and demons…oh my! But it never occurred to me to write one of my own, until now.

The danger involved! That rush of immediacy and peril, hot men and passionate, frantic sex. Oh yeah, I can definitely get into writing this!

I’ll leave you with a snippet out of THE BIRTHDAY to give you a taste of what I mean. Oh yes, this is a story I will definitely be revisiting soon. Thanks for stopping in!

Excerpt:

At a thump on the wall a frown marred his perfect features. Kyle knew better than to disturb him when he was dressing. His face softened. Kyle. His little gem. How long had they been together? Six months?

His eyes widened in the mirror. That would make Kyle twenty. He’d forgotten they shared a birthday.

With a last glance in the mirror, he left the room and crossed the hall, tapped on Kyle’s door before entering. The young man lay in the middle of the bed, naked skin decadent against the red silk sheets. Cyrus smiled, indulgent. His darling looked lonely.

“Did you need me, sweetheart?” he asked as he lay down and gathered Kyle’s body in his arms. The boy’s skin felt dry, soft; tight over a sparse skeleton. Cyrus could break his bones if he held too tightly.

Kyle’s enormous blue eyes swam with tears, bright with desperation. So lovely. “You’re leaving again?” he whispered, timid.

“We’ve discussed this. I always go out on my Birthday.”

“But if something happens to you…”

“I suppose you’ll die of starvation. No, thirst.” Cyrus laughed at the shudder that swept the emaciated body. “Nothing will happen to me. Promise.”

The Birthday

Part of Freaky Flashes Anthology

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Freaky-Flashes-ebook/dp/B00A1CIA18/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1368507641&sr=8-16&keywords=dianne+hartsock

ARe Books: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-freakyflashes-987769-140.html

Every birthday Cyrus visits the dance clubs with a surprise for the young men. This year, the tables are turned.

Author biography:

After growing up in California and spending the first ten years of marriage in Colorado, I now live in the beautiful Willamette Valley of Oregon with my incredibly patient husband, who puts up with the endless hours I spend hunched over the keyboard letting my characters play.
I have to say, Oregon’s raindrops are the perfect setting in which to write. There’s something about being cooped up in the house while it pours rain outside, a fire crackles on the hearth inside, and a cup of hot coffee warms my hands, which kindles my imagination.
The intricate and fragile nature of the mind is always fascinating. Having worked with the public through various careers I’ve come to respect the resilience and strength of the human spirit. I’m always trying to capture that spirit in my writing.
Currently, I work as a floral designer in a locally-owned gift shop. Which is the perfect job for me. When not writing, I can express myself through the rich colors and textures of flowers and foliage.

2 comments so far

  1. diannehartsock on

    Thanks so much for having me as your guest today!

  2. Jennifer M. Hartsock on

    I think it took some time to break out of being private about sex, but it sure has aided you well in the literary community. Congratulations, Momma.


Leave a Reply

