Monday’s Friend: Lynn Cahoon (2)

Today I’m pleased to welcome Lynn Cahoon on her second visit to my blog. Lynn has some sage advice for those of us juggling day jobs with the writing.

Playing with my imaginary friends
By Lynn Cahoon

For most of us, writing is a part time endeavor, full time love. And as a writer with a day job, I’m the rule, rather than the exception.

So what does that mean?

Basically if something is going to happen, I’ve got to make it happen.

Think about it. Writers make up stories out of thin air and blank pages. A lot of our ‘work’ time is thinking up lies. And answering the question – then what happens? But if a writer is going to be successful and try to build a career out of what could be a most excellent hobby, there has to be rules.

Ugh. The rule word. Okay, maybe the word is processes. Goals are just a dream written down. Or maybe not.

As a reader, you’ve probably imagined your favorite author’s life. Sitting at a wooden desk, in a well lit room, maybe a fireplace nearby, a couch for the faithful dog to sleep in when the author is working on the latest work. The computer screen filled with words crafting a new world. And sometimes, that could be reality.

CahoonMy desk sits in a corner of an upstairs bedroom that I share with my husband. His desk sits by the very large television/computer screen. There’s room for a book shelf, my printer, and instead of a couch, Homer, my faithful Pomeranian, lays under the desk, getting caught up in the snarls of cords and plug ins for the multiple devices.

I get to use the desk from 5 am to 6 when I have to get ready for the day job. Then again from 6 pm to 9 when I tend to crash. Four hours a day. If I get up at 5 and if we don’t have anything going on in the evening.

I’m not complaining. I’m stating a fact. If you want to write, you are the only person in the world who will care if you hit your daily word count or not. No one will be following up to see if you’ve finished a manuscript or a story, unless you’ve signed a contract. Even then, your editor isn’t going to be hovering to make sure you’re progressing on your story. You either submit by the deadline or not and deal with the consequences.

So when I sold the first in this series, I knew I wanted to write this book – RETURN OF THE FAE. Even without a contract, I knew it would sell. And it did. Now, it’s on to the development of book 3, which may be called, SALEM SHOWDOWN. At least that’s its working title. All I need is another day or two in the week. Or to reevaluate all that time I sleep. 🙂

So what dream do you have that you need to turn into a reachable goal?

Return-of-the-Fae-mockupReturn of the Fae –

A witch in training, a hunter on the prowl, and a world in jeopardy.

Learning the rules of being a witch takes years, but Parris McCall needs to master them in only weeks. Ty Wallace is going mad with his desire for Parris, but she’s a distraction in his quest to find Coven X before they take The Council and everyone he knows down.

The couple searches for Ty’s mentor, but he’s disappeared. Their only clue comes from a banished witch. When they return, not only are their own lives threatened, but a new life hangs in the balance.

Available at Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Return-of-the-Fae-ebook/dp/B00DJVH8V6

AUTHOR BIO
Lynn Cahoon is a contemporary romance author with a love of hot, sexy men, real and imagined. Her alpha heroes range from rogue witch hunters, modern cowboys, or hot doctors, sexy in scrubs. And her heroines all have one thing in common, their strong need for independence. Or at least that’s what they think they want. She blogs at her website www.lynncahoon.wordpress.com

Other virtual places I play –
Goodreads
Twitter
Facebook

5 comments so far

  1. lynncahoon on

    Thanks for having me here today Sara!

  2. Daisy Banks on

    I do so understand the grasping at time to work on a story before or after the working day.
    Good luck with the book, it looks great. It’s on my to read list.

  3. Diane Carlisle on

    I don’t have a writing dream, but I do love to write. I think if I had a dream of becoming an author, I might write more often, despite my full time day job.

    My problem is that I write when I’m challenged. Example: An interesting writing prompt, someone argues and coaxes me into a debate, etc. I can’t help it then, everything gets dropped and you can’t get me to stop writing until I’m done, have made my point, or appeased my inner child who always wants to win the argument.


Leave a Reply

