Burns Bass

WP_000171This is my Burns bass. It’s a 1962 Vista Sonic Sunburst. It used to belong to my dad, who played bass guitar in a band in the 1960s. He told me he bought it in Tin Pan Alley in London, one day when the neck of his previous bass broke and he needed to find a new one in a hurry because he and the band had a gig to play.

When he found out that I was learning to play bass, he gave it to me, as he hadn’t played it in years. For that reason, I will never sell it.

It’s a bass with attitude. It’s heavy, and it’s loud. I have yet to find a proper gig bag that it fits in, because it’s got a long neck and a big headstock. It’s older than me, and probably in better condition.

Note the sticker of the dude playing guitar. If you think he looks a bit 1970s, you’d be right. When I was about eight years old I had a book of stickers, for colouring in and sticking on things. I coloured in the guitar dude, and dad asked if he could have it. He stuck it on the Burns, and it’s been there for the last 35 years.

Whenever I take the bass out on open mic nights it always gets attention. Proper rockers know what it is, and that it’s rare.

So the bass is something special. I wish I could say the same about my playing.  But I’m still learning, and I’m learning right-handed in spite of being left-handed (as it happens you need both hands to play bass guitar, but I might tell that story some other time). I do open mic nights with Hubby, and our friend Julia, who does vocals.

I’m going to leave you with a video of an open mic performance from earlier this year, in which I do my stuff on the Burns. This is a rendition of Mudcrutch’s “Lover of the Bayou”. And on this one, Hubby does most of the vocals.

Yes, I know I look very serious. I was concentrating hard.

2 comments so far

  1. Vanessa on

    Nice!!! I totally remember those stickers!!!

    • sayssara on

      Wow, do you? I don’t think I would if not for the one still stuck on the Burns!


Leave a Reply

