Friday Fears: Two Sentence Horror – An Introduction

Some writers do ‘Friday Flash’, where they present to the world a story of no more than 100 words at the end of the week.  I’ve always considered myself not very good at Flash Fiction – I figure I need more than a hundred words to tell a story.

But I recently came across this website featuring horror stories of two sentences.

These snippets are not credited, so I don’t know who wrote them, but I found them to be genuinely creepy.  They may be only a few words long, but they stay with you for a long time.  And this has inspired me to set this challenge for myself.  To write scary stories in two sentences.  I think the discipline will be good for me, and it might teach me not to be so afraid of flash fiction.

And so I present a new feature on the blog:  Friday Fears – Horror stories in two sentences.  On Fridays, I will present a scary story in two sentences.  I would like to invite people to join me on this.

So these are the rules.  The idea of the story is to creep people out.  It can be no more than two sentences.  The sentences must be complete – no run-on sentences and blatant disregard of grammar.  You can’t use a comma instead of a full stop and expect to get away with it.  However, extended sentences and complete multi-phrase sentences are perfectly acceptable.

I invite others to try their own hand at two sentence horror stories.  If you want to send me your efforts, I shall offer them on the blog as the next Friday Fear – credited, of course.  Let’s see who can write the scariest two-sentence horror story.

As a taster, here is my first attempt.

 

FRIDAY FEAR #1:

I was alone in the house when I looked into the mirror and saw a pale-faced stranger standing behind me.  When I turned around, there was no one there.

 

Maybe not bad for a first attempt, but I reckon I can do better.  I need to get practising.

Happy Friday!

 

4 comments so far

  1. Rosie on

    I was alone in the house.
    Suddenly a blood curdling scream came from the kitchen.

  2. ailitha on

    The creatures maw dripped acid, burning the leaves on the forest floor. It came closer.

  3. […] try and get back on track.  With the first post, I invited people to join me in writing two-sentence horror stories and I had two people respond […]

  4. Jim King on

    The wind was making the branches of the tree tap against my window. But the sound was coming from the mirror on my dresser.


Leave a Reply

