Monday’s Friend: Suzanne de Montigny

Today I am pleased to welcome fellow Muse author Suzanne de Montigny to the blog.

SJT:  What advice would you pass on to beginner writers that you wish someone had told you when you were first starting out?

SONY DSCSdM:  Get followers for your FB page, twitter, Google+, and Goodreads now. Don’t wait until the last minute. You need to have those people know you have a book coming out.

SJT:  Who would you cite as your influences?

SdM:  Well, it’s hard to say, really. I guess Lucie Maude Montgomery and Kit Pearson.

SJT:  Your biography says your writing career was born out of a passion for unicorns. What is it about unicorns that draws you to them?

SdM:  Well, my writing career didn’t really come from my unicorns other than that my first project was an extension of my childhood unicorn story. It was actually my father’s death that filled me with a tremendous need to write. And I’ve simply never stopped. I love writing. It takes me away. I love living in the worlds I create. As to why I’m drawn to unicorns? I loved horses as a child and loved to write about them.

SJT:  It was while you were a teacher that you discovered that you had a knack for telling stories to children. Have you ever put any of your former pupils in any of your stories?

SdM:  No, not really. However, I have named a lot of characters after children I have known. For example, one of my girl unicorns was named after a little girl my son had a crush on in grade one. Two other girl characters were named after my nieces in Australia.

SJT:  Tell us about your latest release.

SdM:  I am just putting the finishing touches on my second Shadow of the Unicorn novel. This one is called The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Deception. It happens sixty years after the first one, when the Legacy of Azaria has been twisted about by a corrupt leader. When Ulysees and Teo rebel against him, they travel down an old trail where they’re discovered by humans. Hence the fun begins. The nice part about this book is that they find Darius the seer again, plus there is another cataclysmic event that happens.

SJT:  What’s the next writing project in the works for you?

SdM:  As soon as I’m done with this, I’m going to rehash my teen novel, A Town Bewitched about a child prodigy in classical violin growing up in the small town of Hope. When a red-headed fiddler bewitches the town with her mysterious Celtic music, only Kira knows who’s been vandalising the town leaving dead and gutted birds as a calling card. I recently received the wonderful news that this manuscript won first prize in the Chanticleer competetition, so I’m looking forward to submitting it.

theshadowoftheunicorn200x300 (2)new

SHADOW OF THE UNICORN: THE LEGACY

Suzanne de Montigny is the author of the award winning Middle Grade novel, The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy.

Blurb:

A loud, hissing sound filled the air. The unicorns looked up, their eyes filled with horror.

Azaria, a unicorn colt, is intrigued when the young, clairvoyant dinosaur, Darius, foresees a terrifying change to their world. When a giant fireball smashes into the earth, the unicorns struggle to survive the hurricanes and starvation that follow. But nothing compares to the danger when the creatures-that-walk-on-two-legs settle in the valley, and their leader discovers the healing power in the unicorns’ horns. Greedy and ruthless, Ishmael will stop at nothing in his pursuit of wealth – even the complete extinction of the herd. Azaria must find a way to outsmart Ishmael before it’s too late.

BUY LINKS:

Amazon
Kobo
MuseItUp Publishing
Barnes and Noble
Smashwords
iBooks

4 comments so far

  1. Suzanne de Montigny on

    Well, this has been a fun interview! Thanks for having me.

  2. Matthew Peters on

    Thanks for the great interview, Sara and Suzanne. Suzanne, I think your advice about getting your name out there and attracting followers before the book comes out is spot on. I really enjoyed the blurb from The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy. Also, A Town Bewitched sounds fascinating. All the best to both of you.

  3. HFBrainerd on

    Great interview! Suzanne, your unicorn books sound great, but I’m even more intrigued by A Town Bewitched… maybe because fiddling runs in my family. Best of luck with all your books!

  4. Helena Fairfax on

    Your writing projects sound fascinating, Suzanne. I love the sound of A town Bewitched. Lovely interview!


Leave a Reply

