Monday’s Friend: Cheryl Carpinello

Today I am pleased to have Cheryl Carpinello as my blog guest. Welcome, Cheryl!

First PersonWhy It Works
by Cheryl Carpinello

Choosing the point of view for a story is not an easy choice. All writers wrestle with the decision of which point of view will make their story connect with readers. If you choose the wrong POV, then your story is doomed to failure before it is ever finished. If you choose the correct POV, then your story is flying out of the starting gate before it ever hits the publication stage.

Literary Classics International Book Awards - Young Adult Award Winning BookFor Sons of the Sphinx, I struggled with POV for nearly a year. I knew the story I wanted to tell, but couldn’t decide how to best bring my story to life. I tried Third Person, but that just didn’t bring across the emotions of the characters the way I wanted. The Omniscient POV kept me the writer in the story too much. So, I went back and looked at my characters again, focusing on their motivations. That’s when I decided on First Person POV.

My story was to be Rosa’s story first and foremost. The stories of the other characters would also be told, but through Rosa’s innocent eyes. In addition, I wanted Rosa’s sarcastic humor to help define her and her struggle with Nana’s gift. The only way to do that was to have Rosa tell the story. Here’s a couple of snippets. Hopefully you’ll agree.

Rosa upon learning that Tut’s father was given an elephant for a gift:

Your father got elephants for gifts? I cant believe what I heard. An elephant, an elephant? All I got for my last birthday was a blue sweater, a couple of books, and some gift cards.

 Rosa on her arrival in Egypt:

I pause with each step to breathe in this exotic atmosphere. Here and there small stands of treesoases reallyoff to the side provide some relief from the sun. Might be nice to stop. How people live in this oven is beyond me. Even the sweat pouring down my back is hot. So much for the premise that a persons body perspiring cools them off. I keep wiping the stinging saltwater from my eyes. My feet slide in my soggy shoes making it hard to walk. Be lucky if I dont have blisters. Never knew a person had this much water in them.

And who better to describe the feeling of a 15-year-old girl being scolded than a 15-year-old girl:

I walk around behind the shrine. You were one of the richest pharaohs in Egypt.

He looks at me and frowns. I see something in his eyes, briefly, that mirrors the disappointment in my dads eyes the day the cops brought me home. I ditched school after one of those talking ghost episodes. They picked me up at the shopping mall an hour before school was out. An hour! I have all the luck. I cough as my throat tickles in an irritating way.

I hope you enjoyed this peek at the personality of Rosa which only works with First Person POV.

Blurb for SONS OF THE SPHINX

Armed with what she considers her grandmother’s curse, 15-year-old Rosa agrees to help the ghost of King Tut find his lost queen Hesena. Though Hesena’s ba inhabits part of Rosa, finding the whole spirit of Hesena so that she and Tut can be together for the first time in over 3300 years proves to be a harder task than Rosa first thinks. Thrust back into Ancient Egypt with Tut, Rosa discovers that finding Hesena is not all she must do. She must keep out of the reach of the living Horemheb—who crosses mortal boundaries using Seth’s evil magic—if she is to stay alive to make it back home.

Buy Links:

 Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MVGC96Y/

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/469860

 Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sons-of-the-sphinx-cheryl-carpinello/1120481788?ean=2940046213232

iBookstore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/sons-of-the-sphinx/id925912370?mt=11&uo=4

Author Bio:

I love the Ancient and Medieval Worlds! As a retired English teacher, I hope to inspire young readers to read more through my Quest Books. Please follow me on this adventure. On Carpinello’s Writing Pages, I interview other children/MG/Tween/YA authors. At The Quest Books, I’ve teamed up with Fiona Ingram from South Africa and Wendy Leighton-Porter of England/France/Abu Dhabi to enable readers to find all of our Ancient and Medieval quest books in one place.

Author  CarpelloLearn more about Cheryl and her writing at her Blog, and at the following links:

Beyond Today Educator
The Quest Books
Facebook
GoodReads
Twitter
Amazon Author Page

Other Books by Cheryl Carpinello

Guinevere: On the Eve of Legend – Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0025KUJ36

Young Knights of the Round Table: The King’s Ransom – MuseItUp Publishing book page:  http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/museityoung/action-adventure/the-king-s-ransom-detail

Tutankhamen Speaks – Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E18KH46

3 comments so far

  1. ccarpinello on

    Thanks so much for having me, Sara.

  2. Barbara Ehrentreu (@barbehr) on

    I came over here to check out your blog and found my blog guest here too. I always love synchronicity!!

    Cheryl I loved your description of first person POV. I tend to use that almost exclusively.

    • ccarpinello on

      Hi Barbara. Fancy meeting you here! This was my first time using first person POV. It was fun.


Leave a Reply

