Monday’s Friend: Rosemary Morris

 

Today I am pleased to welcome Rosemary Morris back to the blog as this week’s guest.

SJT: When did you first know you were destined to be a writer?

Rosemary Morris - Small photo (2)RM: Before I could write, I had a powerful imagination, which swelled as soon as I could set pencil to paper. I always had stories in my head and lived in a fantasy world peopled by incredible characters. I scribbled short stories and, eventually, wrote my first historical novel.

SJT: Who would you cite as your influences?

RM: There are too many to mention all of them. At grammar school my English literature and history teachers fostered my passion for both subjects. As a pre-teenager I read children’s historical and fantasy fiction, particular favourites were The Wide Wide World, Heidi, The Little White Horse and the novels of Geoffrey Trease and Jeffrey Farnol. In my teens I was wrapped up in the Regency world of Georgette Heyer, the diverse settings of Elizabeth Goudge’s and Anya Seton’s novels, plus every historical novel I could get my hands on including Tess of the d’Urbevilles and Sergeanne Golon’s Angelique series.

SJT: Describe your writing routine. Any rituals or processes that are important to you as you sit down to write?

RM: On most days I am awake by 6 a.m. or occasionally, at the latest, 7 a.m. I make a hot drink with a thick slice of unwaxed lemon and two teaspoons of organic honey, then switch on the laptop. After a break at 8.30 a.m. for a breakfast of porridge made with almond milk and three portions of fruit, I write until 10 or 11 a.m.

When my daily chores are finished I often work for an hour after lunch, and from about 4 or 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Some of this time is used to promote my novels, answer e-mails, blog, and read non-fiction for research.

If I had a pound for everyone who told me they can write a book I would be rich. My daily ritual, if I may call it that, is self-discipline without which my novels would not be written.

SJT: Your novels are all historical, covering various periods of history. Do you have a favourite era that you like to write about?

RM: It’s more a question of which periods of history have not inspired me to use as a setting for my historical novels. For example, I have not had a compulsive urge to set a novel in the Victorian era, but at the moment, I am revising the first book in a trilogy set in the reign of Edward II of England.

I don’t have a favourite era which I write about, but I am keen to introduce readers to Queen Anne Stuart life and times – 1702-1714. For one thing, if the Duke of Marlborough had lost the Wars of Spanish Succession the course of history would have been altered. When writing my three published novels set then, Tangled Love, Far Beyond Rubies and The Captain and The Countess, I enjoyed working out appropriate plots and themes and describing the economic and social history and the clothes, food etc.

SJT: Tell us about your latest release.

The Captain and The Countess 200x300 (2)RM: The Captain and The Countess explores the position of women completely at the mercy of their husband’s and, in the case of the heroine, the wealthy widow, Kate, Countess of Sinclair, her decision never to marry again. However, Captain Howard, some years her junior, a naval officer and a talented artist, is the only man to see the pain behind her fashionable façade and is determined to help her. While writing this romantic tale I wept for Kate and admired her courage. I also fell a little in love with Captain Howard. Although he is battle-hardened, he is generous, kind and efficient and very mature for his age. Throughout the novel I urged Kate not to reject his devotion.

SJT: Last time we talked, you were working on a sequel to ‘Sunday’s Child’. How is this going?

RM: I have finished Monday’s Child, a traditional Regency Romance, which is set in Brussels prior to The Battle of Waterloo and submitted it to my publisher. The novel took longer than I anticipated to write due to the amount of research required.

SJT: You’ve lived in many places, and now you’re back in the UK. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

RM: I’m pleased to say I am content living in England near four of my children and grandchildren. I would like to travel overseas to see a bit more of the world but I would not swap my house and organic garden, in which I grow herbs, fruit and vegetables for one in any other country.

SJT: Thank you for being my guest once again, Rosemary!

Learn more about Rosemary from her website and her blog:

www.rosemarymorris.co.uk
http://rosemarymorris.blogspot.com

Her books are available from MuseItUp, Amazon Kindle, itunes, Nook and all reputable vendors.

2 comments so far

  1. Susan Macatee on

    Enjoyed the interview, Rosemary! I used to be as disciplined as you, but now have to babysit my three and a half year old granddaughter several days a week. So, as when my own boys were young, all order and discipline have gone out the window, at least on the days I have her.

    But it’s fun reliving those days when my own sons were little. I fit in a little bit of writing whenever I can.

  2. ~RoseAnderson on

    I enjoyed your interview too. I always go for the historical novels and love historical romances. Looks like we’ve enjoyed some of the same authors as children. Best luck, Rosemary.


Leave a Reply

