Monday’s Friend: Karina Fabian

Today I am pleased to welcome author Karina Fabian to the blog, as part of her month-long blog tour. Karina writes about zombie exterminator Neeta Lyff, who has been described as being to zombies what Buffy is to vampires. Well, I’ll let her tell you all about it. Welcome to Imaginary Friends, Karina!

Slider-ilmbiSF-audio-tour (2)

SJT: When did you first know you were destined to be a writer?

KF: I was standing before a mountain lake. It was early, and a light fog drifted across the water. I couldn’t stop gazing at it. I was filled with inexplicable anticipation.

Then a woman’s hand rose from the water, bearing a keyboard, and a voice said, “By this tool, you shall entertain the masses.”

Actually, it sounded more like, “Blub, burble, burble,” because her head was underwater…

I don’t think I’ve ever felt “destined” to be a writer. I love writing, and I love telling stories. I have since I was a child. It tickles me to no end that people enjoy reading them.

NeetaLyffe_ZombieExterminator_300dpi_eBook - CopySJT: Who would you cite as your influences?

KF: As far as authors: Madeleine L’Engle, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Mercedes Lackey…in varying degrees and depending on the book I’m writing. As far as living people: my editors and my readers, plus the cast of Whose Line is It, Anyway? because they make me want to write funny. For the Neeta Lyffe books, all the people on Facebook who meme; people who are publically stupid enough to end up in the news (including politicians), my brother-in-law for the idea for I Left My Brains in San Francisco, and the writers of Total Drama Island.

SJT: What advice would you pass on to beginner writers that you wish someone had told you when you were first starting out?

KF: Advice I’d give a new writer: Get in the chair and write the book. While you’re at it, figure out your target audience and learn to market to them.

I got plenty of advice as a new writer. I wish I’d had a mentor, though.

SJT: Your Neeta Lyffe series is described as ‘zombie satire.’ Tell us a more about it.

KF: It’s the 2040s, and the Zombie Apocalypse turned out to be the Zombie Not-pocalypse. Spine severing and public safety campaigns have reduced zombies from pestilence to pest, and a new breed of exterminator has risen to handle the problem. Neeta Lyffe is one such exterminator. She’ll spray for ants and behead that shambling corpse in your backyard – all part of the job.

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator: The Zombie “Apocalypse” Meets Reality TV!
I Left My Brains in San Francisco: The Zombie “Apocalypse” Meets Radical Environmentalism!
(Coming Soon) Shambling in a Winter Wonderland: Zombies on Skis!

NeetaLyffe_ILeftMyBrainsinSanFrancisco_audio_MEDSJT: So. Zombies. Why do you think they have such long-lasting appeal?

KF: They certainly keep going past their shelf life.

SJT: What would be your personal weapon of choice during the Zombocalypse?

KF: Common sense, which seems to be lacking in most zombocalypses I’ve seen.

SJT: When you’re not fighting zombies (in your writing, of course), what else do you like to do to pass the time?

KF: Write about dragons or psychics or spaceships. Clean house. Play D&D. Hang out with my kids. Drive my Miata. Write some more.

Blurb for I LEFT MY BRAINS IN SAN FRANCISCO

Zombie problem? Call Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator–but not this weekend.

On vacation at an exterminator’s convention, she’s looking to relax, have fun, and enjoy a little romance. Too bad the zombies have a different idea. When they rise from their watery graves to take over the City by the Bay, it looks like it’ll be a working vacation after all.

Learn more about the book from Damnation Books, Amazon (paperback and Kindle) and at Zombie Death Extreme.

karinachainsaw2AUTHOR BIO

Winner of the Global eBook Award for Best Horror (Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator), Karina Fabian’s writing takes quirky tales that keep her–and her fans–amused. Zombie exterminators to snarky dragons, things get a little silly in her brain. When she’s not pretending to be an insane psychic or a politically correct corpsicle for a story, she writes product reviews for TopTenReviews.com and takes care of her husband, four kids and two dogs. Mrs. Fabian teaches writing and book marketing seminars online. Learn more about her by visiting her website.

.

3 comments so far

  1. Karina Fabian on

    Thanks so much for hosting me today!

  2. Karina Fabian on

    The book’s still not up on Audible. We’re not sure what the holdup is, but we’d like to offer everyone something in the meantime, lest you all go after our brains! We have the first 3 chapters of I Left My Brains in San Francisco for you in audio. If you go to http://karinafabian.com/freezombiefiction/ and sign up, I”ll invite you to the shared drive and let you know when to book is live. PLUS, I’ll put you in for a drawing for a free audio copy of Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator.

    Becky & I can’t control Audible, but we can control what we do about it. Let us show you this is worth waiting for. http://karinafabian.com/freezombiefiction/

  3. Karina Fabian on

    It’s here! After a nearly 2-week delay, I Left My Brains in San Francisco is up on Audible. Check it out at http://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/I-Left-My-Brains-in-San-Francisco-Audiobook/B016CF3U80/


Leave a Reply

