Monday’s Friend: JQ Rose

Today I’m pleased to have author JQ Rose stop by as part of her blog tour for her latest release. JQ and I are having a mutual blog swap today – I’m over on her blog today talking about Making Time To Write.

There’s also plenty of prizes to win, as not only is JQ offering a giveaway here on my blog today, but there’s a chance to win one of my books over on hers, too.

Welcome back to Monday’s Friends, JQ!

DU BLOG TOUR POSTER 2 (2)

Hello Sara-Jayne. Thanks so much for hosting me today on my book blog tour for my new mystery/romance/paranormal, Deadly Undertaking.

 Readers, you’re invited to enter the drawing for prizes awarded after the November tour. The Rafflecopter information is at the end of the post.

# # #

Raising Awareness
by J.Q. Rose

Writing has been a life-long pursuit for me. From the time I began writing stories in second grade, throughout my growing-up years, and young married and mom years, I created stories and poems for my own enjoyment. When my husband and I bought a floral shop and greenhouse business, I must confess, I had enough on my plate with working at the shop 24/7, caring for our daughters, and managing a household, so the writing wasn’t a top priority. Maybe a poem once in a while because let’s face it, a writer has to express herself no matter what. I had plenty to write about, just no time to do it.

After twenty years in the floral industry, we sold our business. The girls were grown and nearly out of school, so I decided to give writing a chance. I boldly entered the local newspaper office and asked to write articles. Surprisingly, the editor agreed. The seed that had been planted in second grade finally was allowed to blossom and allow me to inform and entertain readers.

Seeing that first article published in the paper with my byline fed my desire to write. I wanted to enrich other people’s lives with the articles on local businesses and stories of folks in the community.

Later I branched out into writing feature articles for magazines and e-zines (online magazines.) But after fifteen years of working as a freelance writer, I was ready for a change. I was ready to play and use my imagination to develop stories just as I did when I was seven years old.

I began penning fun characters, situations, and worlds that swirled in my brain. But I didn’t want to entertain readers only, I added subtle messages to the story to inform them or become aware of their world.

My e-books contain my own views on issues we face every day—preserving our environment, too many drugs prescribed for senior citizens, the media madness, forgiveness.

In Deadly Undertaking, a romantic suspense, I hope to raise awareness about the epidemic of Alzheimer’s disease and the legalization of recreational marijuana. Yes, pretty heavy topics for readers who want to grab a book to escape reality. I don’t lecture about these issues, but I do have my characters deal with them.

If you’re a writer, do you try to bring up issues we struggle with in this modern society? If you’re a reader, do you look for a message in your reading?

# # #

Back of the Book: Deadly Undertaking by J.Q. Rose

Lauren Staab knew there would be dead bodies around when she returned home. After all, her family is in the funeral business, Staab and Blood Funeral Home. Still, finding an extra body on the floor of the garage between the hearse and the flower car shocked her. Lauren’s plan to return to her hometown to help care for her mother and keep the books for the funeral home suddenly turns upside down in a struggle to prove she and her family are not guilty of murdering the man. But will the real killer return for her, her dad, her brother? Her mother’s secrets, a killer, a handsome policeman, and a shadow man muddle up her intention to have a simple life. Welcome home, Lauren!

400x600 Rose-DeadlyUndertaking-Payloadz (2)Amazon
Amazon UK
Barnes and Noble
Books We Love Bookstore
Kobo

Author Bio:

After writing feature articles in magazines, newspapers, and online magazines for over fifteen years, J.Q. Rose entered the world of fiction. Her published mysteries are Sunshine Boulevard, Coda to Murder, and Deadly Undertaking. Blogging, photography, Pegs and Jokers board games, and travel are the things that keep her out of trouble. She and her husband, Gardener Ted spend winters in Florida and summers up north camping and hunting toads, frogs, and salamanders with her four grandsons and granddaughter.

Connect with J.Q. Rose online at

J.Q. Rose blog http://www.jqrose.com/
Facebook http://facebook.com/jqroseauthor
Google+ google.com/+JQRose
Amazon Author Page http://tinyurl.com/aeuv4m4
Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/jqrose
Pinterest http://pinterest.com/janetglaser/

RAFFLECOPTER INFO

Thank you so much for hosting me on the Deadly Undertaking Blog Tour.

Readers, you’re invited to enter the Rafflecopter drawing for prizes during the tour November 12-25. Find the Rafflecopter and the blog tour schedule at the Contest page on the J.Q. Rose blog. http://www.jqrose.com/p/get-in-on-fun-j.html Good luck!

 

 

4 comments so far

  1. J.Q. Rose on

    Hi Sara, Thanks for hosting me today. Sunny, cool day here in Florida. How about in London?

    • sayssara on

      It’s cold here in London – hovering just above freezing! On balance I’d rather be in Florida. I hate the winter!

  2. emaginette on

    I just found out our local paper takes articles if you just drop them off. Who knew?

    Anna from Elements of Writing

    • J.Q. Rose on

      That’s a good tip to aspiring writers. My daughter is a health coach and she writes articles for the local paper for free but she does get to advertise her coaching business. Thanks for stopping Anna.


Leave a Reply

