Monday’s Friend: Chandra Ryan

I am pleased to welcome romance writer Chandra Ryan as my first guest of 2013.

The Grass Is Always Greener On The Plotter Side
By Chandra Ryan
ChandraRyan
And I know this because I’m a pantser! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. Not really. I tried being a plotter. After having to write, rewrite, and rewrite scenes again the appeal of an outline and charts became apparent. I sat down and I outlined four chapters and filled out conflict-motivation charts for my characters. But by the time I got to the third paragraph of the actual story, I’d thought of a great plot twist that would completely change the outline making it a huge waste of time.

I didn’t give up that easily, though. Outlines and knowing where I was going just made too much sense for me to give up that quickly. So I tried again. I revised my outline to support the new twist and continued. I made it about three more paragraphs before the dialogue and conflict felt forced. It just didn’t feel organic to the characters or the situation. That’s when I gave up and threw the outline out. I decided plotting wasn’t for me.

Still, four books later, I find myself thinking about outlines and charts from time to time. It’s almost a sickness for me. Maybe I did something wrong? Maybe if I tried again, after everything I’ve learned over the past three years, I’d get it right this time? The allure of saving all the time I use for rewrites and corrections is too large a temptation to ignore completely. Yet I never actually do indulge in the fantasy. Why? In part because the most important thing I’ve learned over the past three years is. When it comes to your writing, if it ain’t broke, don’t fiddle with it.

It may take me longer to write a story than some of my friends. And I may spend more time in the re-write stage than most. But, at the end of the day (or maybe more realistically at the end of seven or eight months), I get it done. I just can’t bring myself to throw out a method that works on the chance that there’s something out there that might work better.

Can’t help but admire their grass from time to time, though.

I leave you with the blurb and an excerpt for my newest novel, Bond Betrayed:
bondbetrayed_msr (1)
Isaac Marrow doesn’t care that Nikki Rathe is a seductress. She’s the only member of the Community who can help him get his sister Molly back from Nikki’s father, who holds the rest of their kind under his spell. But he doesn’t expect her to help willingly. Instead, he tricks her into giving up her blood, bonding her to him in an effort to compel her support.

Nikki could have told Isaac that bonding himself to a seductress was a foolish move, but he never asked. Now, a powerful lust ties them together, driving them both mad. Isaac is hot, but the desire is a distraction she doesn’t need. Nikki wants to free Molly and bring down her father just as much as Isaac, if not more. The Community banished her as a child while letting her power-hungry father grow stronger. But Isaac’s betrayal of her trust can’t go unpunished. And a seductress can deliver a powerful punishment.

Excerpt:

“Why don’t I know you?” The deep timbre of his voice made heat pool at her core.

Studying his face, she thought there was something vaguely familiar about him, but she let it go. She’d been forced out of the Community too long ago for her to remember him even if she had known him back then. And if he knew who she was, he’d be running in the other direction. Her last name had a tendency to evoke that response.

Arching an eyebrow inquisitively, she gave him her most seductive smile. “My best guess? It’s because we’ve never met.”

“That’s unfortunate. I would’ve enjoyed meeting you.”

Her breath caught at the raw sensuality surrounding the man. She shouldn’t be standing so close to him—not if she wanted to keep the tenuous grasp of control she still had. But she couldn’t bear the idea of moving away. “I’m sure you would’ve.”

“Maybe we should meet.”

She wasn’t ignorant to their ways—this wasn’t an invitation to tea. This was exactly what she’d been hoping for as she’d made her way over to him. But, no matter how strongly he affected her, she couldn’t afford to be reckless.
“Maybe, but…”

“But what?”

But she wasn’t suicidal. Not exactly something one could articulate without raising suspicion, though. She took a small step toward him and immediately regretted it. Standing so close, the pull was stronger, so intense she found it was a struggle to remember why she’d taken the step in the first place. “I’d need to know who owns you first.”

He stared at her as if confused for a moment.

“Your family and alliances,” she clarified. “Will you let me see them?” It was a daringly bold question but, if she was going to do this—and she really wanted to do this—she needed to make sure it wasn’t some sort of trick.

“Are there any you’re looking for—specifically that is?” As he slowly unbuttoned the top two buttons of his shirt, she saw the beginning of the elaborate series of tattoos and mentally kicked herself. Only she would stumble upon someone so well-connected his entire torso would be inked. “Or should I strip down for you right here in the parking lot?”

If you’d like to find out more about Bond betrayed it can be found on the Ellora’s Cave site or on Chandra’s website:

http://www.ellorascave.com/bond-betrayed.html

www.chandraryan.com

or on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Bond-Betrayed-ebook/dp/B00A4E7FYQ

Author Bio:

Being from a rather nomadic family, Chandra Ryan loves to travel and meet people. But she’s found that sometimes, like when you’re stuck inside because of a good old-fashioned Southwestern heat wave, you have to make do. Fortunately for her and her loving family, who don’t like seeing her suffer from cabin fever, she’s found creating new people and places equally as fascinating. Also, you’re a lot less likely to spill your ice tea.

1 comment so far

  1. Chandra Ryan on

    Thanks so much for having me on your blog! Hope you’re having a fantastic New Year 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.