2010 In Review

On the last day of the year, my thoughts inevitably dwell on the year gone by. 2010 has been a good year. In fact, it’s been the best year. I became a published novelist – not much can top that.

In revisiting my writing goals for 2010, however, it’s been slightly less successful. I pledged to kick my urban fantasy novel out of its second-draft slump. Well, this has not yet happened. However, thanks to a late night plot-wrangling session with friends and fellow T Party members Gaie and Sarah, I am feeling much more confident that this WIP is actually salvageable.

2011 will see the e-book publication of DEATH SCENE, my amateur sleuth novel, which I am immensely looking forward to. However, this book is the first of a series, and Lyrical Press are not currently accepting any more mystery novels, so the future of my amateur sleuth is a little uncertain at this point in time.

I’m halfway through the first draft of the second book in this series and it’s going quite well, so I am reluctant to abandon it in mid-flow, even if it has no home to go to when it’s finished.

I can’t help feeling that the urban fantasy series might be the way to go. The urban fantasy band wagon shows no sign of slowing down any time soon. I want to aim high with that one, and put it on the agent circuit when it’s ready to go. I just have to finish the damn thing.

So with this in mind, here are my decidedly ambitious writing goals for 2011.

1. Promote the pants off DEATH SCENE, pending its forthcoming release in 2011.
2. Get to the end of the first draft of the sequel to DEATH SCENE.
3. Work hard on the urban fantasy, and get it to a stage where it’s at the very least ready to be critiqued by the T Party at the end of 2011, if not yet ready to go out into the world.

It’s a bit scary looking at these goals laid out this way. But hey, why not aim high? Trying and failing is better than not trying at all.

Happy New Year, everyone. I’ll catch up with you again in 2011.

4 comments so far

  1. LM Preston on

    You can do it, lol! Sometimes having a critique partner who has the same timing goals as you do will work. Happy New Year!

  2. Razib Ahmed on

    Happy new year to you and best of luck with your DEATH SCENE. I hope that it gets read by many people.

  3. LaChatNoir on

    Exciting goals! Lots of luck with them. Just wanted to say happy new year and looking forward to more blog posts from you this year!
    x


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.